Do What You Want !

For all of you who don’t know me personally, I will start by saying that I am a huge music fanatic. I enjoy all types of music from electric dance music to indie rock. I unfortunately was not given the gift of a good voice but I make sure to make up for it in other ways, such as… dancing at clubs, singing at the top of my lungs in the car and creating signature dance moves such as “chopping the grass.” So to go along with my blog, I will be posting a song or music video a week that I will talk about. For people who are looking for new and good music to add to their IPods, look no further.

Today I picked a song by two of my favourite DJ’s Avicii and Nicky Romero. This song is called “I could be the one.” It is a perfect song to dance to and as soon as I hear it I automatically start to move my head. The most interesting part of this song for me was the music video that was created for it. When I watched it I felt like I could relate so much to what the woman in the video felt like. The video starts out with her constantly having to wake up early and follow her same routine in the morning before she goes off to work. She then goes to the same job and sits at her desk every day and she feels lost. I feel like a lot of people can relate to that feeling of boredom and not going anywhere new. We get so caught up in trying to do what society has set out for us that we forget to live our own lives.

She then realizes that she cannot keep living her life like a prisoner in her own body, she decides to let go and do what makes her happy. The video obviously exaggerates the theme but I think it has a really good meaning. The lyrics in the song also captivated me right from the start. “I could be the one to make you feel that way; I could be the one to set you free.” For so many people that can mean different things. Whether it’s a person that makes you feel that way, or an idea, think about what makes you happy and follow it with your heart. That happiness will be the key to setting you free.

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.” – George Eliot

Video taken from YouTube

Leave a Reply

