Fighting For A Cause

Fighting For A Cause

This Saturday my family and a large group of our friends are participating in the Relay For Life. This event as many of you know is put on by the Canadian Cancer Society and all the proceeds go towards cancer research and helping those battling the terrible disease. Now if you asked me a couple years ago if I would be doing this today the answer would probably be no. This is not because I don’t believe in the cause or because I have better things going on it is simply because until you are affected personally it is hard to relate sometimes. This happens all the time in life, until you feel first-hand what losing someone is like you are almost blind to reality.

From losing our closest family friend Roy it opened my eyes about how important the value of time is with people. It also made me realize that by not doing anything to make a change I would continue to be a bystander, and I didn’t want that. Don’t get me wrong; there will always be problems, diseases and issues in our world but why not be that small impact in making it better. Why not live a life knowing that you are trying to create something positive, whether you are volunteering, donating money or whatever it may be. It might not be cancer you are fighting against but whatever you feel strongly about try and help out in some way. One thing I learned in my life so far is that anything counts! Small gestures, pocket change, your valuable time all means something towards the bigger picture. At the end of the day there is no harm in making a positive change, and how about the good karma and peace of mind that comes with it.

Wish us luck on Saturday as we walk/run from 6pm – 6am in hopes of bringing the world one step closer into becoming cancer free!

Leave a Reply

