Coffee & A Good Book

photo 1-10Market Lane Coffee was my choice this morning for a relaxing start to the day. Sipping my strong cappuccino I indulged in my latest book by Eckhart Tolle, New Earth. I have only just started but it already has me intrigued and wanting to learn more. He speaks on how to let go of your ego and the need to constantly identify yourself with the things you own. The ego is your mind telling you who you are and what your suppose to do. Eckhart explains that we must learn to observe our thoughts and realise that we are not what goes on in our mind all day. You are not what your mind tells you.

The chapter I am currently on speaks about how constant complaining is your ego believing the story inside your head. For the next week try and catch yourself complaining or thinking negative thoughts; which is the first step in becoming a more concious person. For those who find themselves attached to material items, try and think about what they actually do for you. If you didn’t have them would you be any less of a person?

I am going to leave you there with some food for thought… photo 2-9 photo 3-6 Β  Carly Jensen xo

4 thoughts on “Coffee & A Good Book

  1. Wonderful Sunday thought. I find what is true of ourselves, is also true of systems. Businesses have bigger egos than individuals, but zero mindfulness.
    I love Tolle’s work. Thanks for reminding me how much.

Leave a Reply

